The Practice of Strategy

Doing the right thing wrong is better than doing the wrong thing right

Presenting at The Chief Strategy Officer Summit – London, April 26, 2013

Leave a comment

I am preparing my presentation for the Chief Strategy Officer Summit which will be held in  London, April 25-26, 2013. I will be talking about the struggle with strategy implementation. We have enough evidence that most companies find it extremely challenging to implement their intended strategies. Many barriers to implementation have been reported by researchers, including poor communication, lack of resource, conflicting priorities, ineffective decision making, and many more. These are certainly serious problems, but are they they real problems? Or are these symptoms to more systemic problems? 

In my presentation, I argue that there are less visible barriers to strategy implementation. I think it is critical that we conduct systemic analyses of those barriers through the appreciation of the complex nature of organizations. I think it is this complex nature of the organization that makes strategy implementation an extremely challenging process. I will share some thoughts on how companies could overcome some of those challenges by better understand the complex structure of the organization.

Author: Ahmad Salih

I am a corporate strategy director with more than 16 years of experience in the telecom industry. I am professionally and academically interested in exploring the dynamics of strategic practices. I received my MBA from the University of Wales and my doctorate of business administration from Walden University.

Leave a Reply

